Gratia (Week 1)

Hey, it’s a new year! Brush all the negativity off of your hair and rinse it with a shampoo filled with rainbows and unicorns!

Gratia is a Latin word that means grace, thanks, or gratitude. I read somewhere that writing down the things you are grateful for can help make you a happier and healthier person. Since it is the beginning of a new year and my heart has been filled with so much fear and anxiety these past few days, I will start to take note of everything that made me feel warm and fuzzy inside, write them down then post them at the end of the week. It’s like going into an emotional rehab. I’ll also throw in some of the things that made me happy because I’m always grateful for things I can wonder at.

Without further ado, here is a list of things that I am grateful for (or things that made me happy) this past week starting from the 1st of January!

Wednesday, January 1

  1. God and all His magnificent splendour
  2. I discovered a new artist. As I said in my previous post, I have recently been fascinated with Norway. This discovery was unintentional and most delightful. I was watching a clip from a Norwegian show and this man was their guest. His name is Reidar Finsrud, and he is dubbed as the new Da Vinci. I can’t rave enough about him because he truly is a Renaissance man. Not only is he an amazing artist but he also built his own perpetual motion machine. MIND BLOWN. I wish to meet this man someday. Check out his impressive CV!

Thursday, January 2

  1. A cool and bright afternoon, books, and tea. During the Christmas break, I got into the habit of reading while having tea every 4:00 pm. When the chores are done, I make myself a cup of Earl Grey tea and sit beside the window with my book. Afternoons always make me feel happy especially when it’s 4:00 pm. Is there a scientific explanation for this?
  2. The innocence of children

Friday, January 3

  1. I’m not going to recount every single thing that happened last Friday but here’s a summary: It was just a really bad day. It was so bad that I went all Forrest Gump and kept walking aimlessly non-stop for three hours, skipping lunch in the process. Needless to say, my soul died that day. Thank you for being the most understanding person in the world, thank you for going out of you way to help me (YOU’RE A LIFESAVER), and thank you for being patient with me. I love all of you!

Saturday, January 4

  1. This video of Gerard Butler playing Innuendo Bingo.

Go start your own gratitude journal too!
Happy 2014!

Leave a Reply

