Gratia (Week 4)

The past three days have been a blur. I can’t distinguish dream from reality. That’s because I was lucid dreaming. It looked like William Burrough’s Naked Lunch but on natural high.

School has been demanding and I haven’t had decent sleep or nutrition for three days. That is why I’m late on my entry again. But it’s okay. I forgive myself. I’m still surprised at how I’m still in one piece. Now that I have some free time, I best make use of it.

Well, here they are! Beautiful moments that made the fourth week of 2014 bearable.

Sunday (January 19)

  •  When I’m busy with school work, the most annoying thing that could happen is for unexpected plans to come up and I can’t get out of it. We had to go to my sister’s house for lunch and I was not happy about that the night before but then I thought to myself, spending time with your family should never be a bad thing. We had a nice seafood lunch and after that, my niece taught me how to play Monopoly Deal (ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED!). We also had tea before leaving because I wanted some. I was surprised to see that I’m not the only one who loves a cup of Earl Grey. It was also nice to see my dad play the piano. I think all my creative genes came from him.

Monday (January 20)

  • My allergies acted up on Sunday afternoon and I had a terrible headache (AND KANT, I HAD KANT). Naturally, I’d choose to stay in the next day to rest but I can’t because I have one last cut for PE and I wanted to save it for something really important. I forced myself out of bed, skipped shower (because that morning was as cold as the iceberg that sunk the Titanic), and zombie marched my way into school. For some inexplicable reason, I keep arriving an hour early for my morning classes ever since this year started. I had nothing else to do so I sat in front of the school pond. I realized that I’m more energetic than usual which was fantastic! The cheerful priests that I saw walking around the campus made my morning a whole lot brighter. Needless to say, the rest of that Monday went absolutely well.

Tuesday (January 21)

  • There’s a gremlin that lives in my house. He’s my 5-year old nephew by the name of Hans. Hans takes after me when it comes to weird things. Every night, he waits for me to get home and the moment I enter the house, he’d come rushing to me saying, “Tita (auntie), can I watch trains?” It’s actually more of an overexcited scream. He loves trains. While I had my dinner, he sat beside me on the dining table and we watched trains. My favourite moments are usually with this kid. We also stumbled upon this adorable video where a dad made his son’s toy train fly up to space. It’s a combination of the things my nephew and I like. Trains and space.
  • At 2:00 am on this day, I wrote a song. A tune just popped into my head and I started singing. It was probably because we watched Dancer in the Dark for Film Theory the previous day. Here’s a snippet of the lyrics:

Spiralling down
Turning their life around
Into the darkest corners of your mind
Rewinding time
Places you’ll find the moment you leave it all behind

My memory of Wednesday is vague. I failed to note down what happened that day. I’m sure there was something. At least, Wednesday wasn’t cancelled due to a scheduling error. Night Vale reference right there.

Thursday (January 23)

  • I made new friends! I didn’t think I’d still make new friends at this point in my university life because I’m ancient. Interacting with the freshmen makes me feel really old. And mature. Oh, so mature.

Friday (January 24)

  • This was the first time I met my whole cast and crew for the Valentine’s production. I’m thankful that my actors are seasoned performers and have no problem acting with each other. I’m also thankful that my stage manager is systematic and responsible. What would directors do without stage managers? It’s going to be a great experience working together. I can feel it.

Saturday (January 25)

  • Art never fails. It never fails to make me realize the things that I’ve taken for granted. In this chaotic world that we live in, I always make sure that I have time to stop and smell the flowers. Since I was writing a paper for my Film Theory class, I thought it would be good to watch a movie to end the night and I can use it as an example for my paper. I watched Ikiru by Akira Kurosawa. I’ve had a copy since summer of 2013 but I never watched it because, knowing the premise of the movie, I didn’t think it would be appropriate to watch if I wanted to enjoy and relax. I thought that Saturday was the right time and boy, it was more than right. That movie was a tearjerker from start to finish, but in a good way. I never thought a movie poster could sum up a whole film in just one image.

Credits to Bread & Milk

“Life is so short. Fall in love, dear maiden while your lips are still red and before you are cold, for there will be no tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

