Gratia (Week 5)

Hello! Writing an introduction is hard.

Sunday (January 26)

  • It felt like Sunday and Monday were morphed into one long, exhausting day. I started writing at 9:00 am and ended at 10:00 am the next day. I didn’t plan on sleeping but nothing I wrote made sense at 2:00 am so I had to go to bed. What am I thankful for? I’m thankful for this challenge and the optimism to take it head on. I learned a lot from all that writing. Like how I should never cram. Ever. Again.

Monday (January 27)

  • When the clock struck 12 midnight, I knew there was some serious work to be done. The paper is there. It’s just all patched up with no clear transitions or cohesion. My mind refused to work and instead, chose to watch PewDiePie play Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs. I was alone, it’s past midnight, and I’m watching scary things instead of editing my paper. That’s when I decided to sleep. I’m thankful that I kept my composure and didn’t break down awkwardly in the dining room. The paper reached its destination error-free and with proper citation. Cue the angels singing hallelujah.

Tuesday (January 28)

  • I had to submit another requirement that day so I stayed up doing it again. I realized, I’m pretty lucky and healthy to actually still be alive after three days of staying up in ungodly hours. After my morning class, I spent the rest of the day chilling and watching more PewDiePie videos.

Wednesday (January 29)

  • I went out for a morning run. I ran like Forrest Gump and when it was over, died like Lt. Dan’s leg. How far did I run, anyway?
  • This day was a well-needed breather from work. Our teacher decided that we should watch the symposium on playwriting instead of having class. It was inspiring to listen to three outstanding and respected writers/professors talk about how they wrote a play together. After the symposium, I put on my director shoes and did some directing. There was a small but significant progress in our second rehearsal. I look forward to seeing it all come together.

Thursday (January 30)

  • It’s nice to know that there’s someone you can talk to about anything.
  • Poetry is beautiful.

Friday (January 31)

  • My mom told me the night before that we’re celebrating Chinese New Year with a small feast. I didn’t expect anything but of course, my mom was serious. My dad came home with a story about how the nuno sa punso in our Laguna house gave him fever. It’s a popular Filipino superstition. We had a Chinese dinner with tikoy and round fruits.
  • I have accepted the fact that I cannot stand not reading a book for leisure so I picked up Naked Lunch by William Burroughs. For the third time.

Saturday (February 1)

  • A beautiful afternoon yesterday was. I watched RED (a play about Mark Rothko) with two friends, a professor, and her husband. You could say I was the fifth wheel. But at least I didn’t feel like one. Saturdays are best spent with art and good company, methinks.
Leave a Reply

